My Word of the Year

Oh, hello there. Remember me? I’m the “Ohio” in this blog. Well, Brittany has been really carrying the site for awhile now and I apologize for that. I’ve been so focused on settling into the new job, the new city, the new place, I just kind of let a lot of things go.

I wasn’t eating as healthy as I’d like or working out very often. I wasn’t reading as much as I used to or taking time to do anything creative for me. Klaus and I weren’t exploring as much as we used to. Instead, we watched a lot of TV and ate a lot of fried food.

But as we approach a new year, now is a time for a fresh start. Over and over again I’ve made one giant resolution and quickly broken it (like most of America). Instead, this year I’ve decided to pick a word for the year and try to make smaller, actionable goals each month that ladder up to the word.

My word for 2016: Initiative

Despite being an outgoing introvert and a very hard worker, often I sit back and just let things happen.I make excuses – I’m tired, it’s cold, I’m settling in – and that has got to stop. So this year I will take initiative to better my life and the lives of those around me.

As for my January theme? Its all about my career. I had a really amazing meeting with Keith Speers right before Christmas and he told me that I have great ideas, but I need to stop being so timid about sharing them. I love my job and the company I work for, so its time to really take initiative and step it up. I’ve been handed this wonderful opportunity to take ownership of a practice area and its about time I act on it.

My goal is to check in at the beginning of each month to tell you a bit about how the previous month went and what my new theme will be.  In the meantime, I’ll try to commit to more regular updates here.

Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and I look forward to a bright and shiny new year!

Leave a Reply

