Rant: The Overuse of Hashtags

Occasionally, my friends and I will discuss things that really piss us off (normal). I could probably have full on rants every single day if I tried, but for now let’s just leave it to once a week.

This week, I NEED to discuss how people overuse hashtags.

In the past two years, friends have expanded their use of social media to include not just Facebook. (LOVE it!) They’ve discovered the enjoyment of platforms like Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat.

But with these new social media accounts comes amateur hour. *rolls eyes*

Credit: Social Marmalade

Credit: Social Marmalade

I don’t mind seeing pics from your trips, what you’re eating or throwbacks (there are things but we’ll get to that in another post), but stop excessively using hashtags. Over the past couple of months, I’ve tried to understand the need of 10+ hashtags in one single post and am left scratching my head. Some are trying to gain new followers. But remember, QUALITY over quantity is best!

Personally, I try to use no more than 5 hashtags and they all relate to the picture. This week, I felt the need to beg everyone to calm it down. I get that you love what you posted, but be mindful that not everyone cares to see hashtags the length of a paragraph. And note, I will most likely unfollow you. #NoShame 😉

OK, that’s the end of this week’s rant.

Leave a Reply

