Green Smoothie Freezer Packs + Three Ways to Use Them

Eating healthy is really important to me. My weight has gone up and down (well, mostly up) a lot of my life and about a year ago I decided to take control of my health and how I felt about my body. From that moment, it has been a long journey of learning about what healthy eating is, how to exercise and what works best for me. I am definitely still learning, and the entire process has been pretty slow going (I grew up in the midwest on a steady stream of Hamburger Helper and so much cheese) and I’ve definitely taken a few steps backward and forward again, but I think I’m slowly getting the hang of it.

One thing I’ve taken to eating pretty regularly is a green smoothies (aka green monsters) as part of my breakfast. I like starting my day on a healthy note with fruits and vegetables (and sometimes nuts, seeds and other boosters). I feel like I’m setting myself up for success for the rest of the day.

My biggest problem with green smoothies is finding the time in the morning to wash, peel and prep all the fruits and veggies. That is, until I saw the brilliant idea to pre-portion out your smoothie ingredients in baggies in the freezer so you can just pop them in the blender in the morning, blend and go!

Not only does this save time, but money as well. I always buy bananas and frozen fruit when they are on sale and then make a bunch of packs. To help prevent getting bored with the same smoothie every morning, I’ve come up with a few different “recipes” so I can have a different one every morning!

But first, how to make the smoothie packs. I promise, it is very easy.

Simply gather your ingredients and split them up among a few bags. The proportions I use are half a banana, 1/4 cup frozen berries and 1 cup spinach per pack.

Freezer Smoothie Packs

Basic Green Smoothie Freezer Packs

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

Equipment:

  • 6 freezer bags/baggies/tupperware
  • measuring cups and spoons
  • salad spinner (to wash and dry your greens)

Directions:

  1. In each pack place half a banana, 1/4 cup frozen fruit and 1 cup greens
  2. Push as much air as possible out of the pack (if you’re using baggies the straw trick works great), seal and place in your freezer.

Notes/Tips:

  • Older, spotty brown bananas, like the ones you would use to make banana bread, work great here because they lend a little extra sweetness
  • When I have them, I love adding chia seeds because they thicken the smoothie up a little and have some great health benefits, including regulating blood sugar. I generally add 1 teaspoon per pack.
  • You can add more frozen fruit if you’d like, but I think 1/4 cup, plus 1/2 a banana is the perfect level of sweetness, plus each pack then represents 1 serving of fruit and 1 serving of veggies!

Now, you could simply plop the contents into a blender with a bit of liquid and enjoy your green smoothie goodness, but if you ever get bored of that, you can make smoothies with a huge array of flavors and tastes. I’ve included five of my favorite below as a way to help kick start your imagination!

(PS, yes, two of these pictures are taken outside on my roof in Brooklyn. Unfortunately my apartment only gets natural light from overhead through my skylight, which leads to some odd looking photos.)

Morning Mocha Green Smoothie

 
 

1. Morning Mocha Green Smoothie
Freezer Pack + 1/2 cup milk of your choice + 1/2 cup cold coffee + 1 T cocoa powder + 1 T sweetener of your choice

 
 

Peanut Butter Cookie Green Smoothie

 
 

2. Peanut Butter Cookie Smoothie
Freezer Pack + 1 cup milk of your choice + 1-2 T peanut butter (almond butter is also delicious!) + dash vanilla extract + optional sweetener

 
 

Spiced Green Smoothie

 
 

3. Spiced Green Smoothie
Freezer Pack + 1 cup milk of your choice + 1/4 t ground turmeric + 1/2 t ground cinnamon + 1 T fresh ginger + 1 T honey

 
 

Freezer smoothie packs make it easy to start every day on a healthy foot. Mix it up by blending the pack with different add-ins and flavors so you never get bored!

Let us know if you have any favorite smoothie combinations.

xoxo

Rose

Leave a Reply

